Past events

The KF 66th Chopin Piano Competition

Saturday, March 30, 2019, at 10:00am

Congratulations to the Winners of the Semifinal Round of the KF 66th Chopin Piano Competition. The Final Round will take place tomorrow, Sunday, March 31 beginning at 10:15 a.m. The order of performances is as follows:


Takeshi Nagayasu -  10:15 - 11:00 AM

Hengyi Ye -  11:00 - 11:45 AM

Ahmed Alom -  11:45 AM - 12:30 PM 

Lunch break and piano tuning 12:30 - 1:30 PM

Jun Luke Foster - 1:30 - 2: 15 PM

Seungjin Han - 2:15 - 3:00 PM


15-minute break


Benjamin Hopkins - 3:15 - 4:00 PM

Philip Kwoka – 4:00 – 4:45 PM


The Awards Presentation Ceremony : 5:30 p.m. 

Join us at the Kosciuszko Foundation for the weekend of Chopin music as 12 top contestants of the KF 66th Chopin Piano Competition take the stage to compete for the first award before the esteemed panel of judges.

The KF 66th Chopin Piano Competition

Semifinals (12 Contestants): Saturday, March 30, 10:00 a.m. - 6:15 p.m.

Finals (6 Contestants): Sunday, March 31, 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. 

The Kosciuszko Foundation House:

15 E 65th Street, New York, NY 10065

Free admission. Space is limited. Registration required. Seating is available on the first come first served basis.

The performance order for the Semifinal round on Saturday is as follows:

Takeshi Nagayasu: 10:00 - 10:30 AM
Maria-Desislava Nikolova Stoycheva: 10:35 - 11:05 AM
Zhanglin Hu: 11:10 - 11:40 AM

20-minute break

David Yang: 12:00 - 12:30 PM
Hengyi Ye: 12:35 - 1:05 PM

Lunch break and piano tuning 1:05-1:55 PM

Ahmed Alom: 2:00 - 2:30 PM
Jun Luke Foster: 2:35 - 3:05 PM
Seungjin Han: 3:10 - 3:40 PM

20-minute break

Benjamin Hopkins: 4:00 - 4:30 PM
Philip Kwoka: 4:35 - 5:05 PM 

Names of the Contestants selected by the Jury to take part in the Finals and the order in which they will perform will be announced on Saturday evening.

For information on the repertoire requirement for both rounds click HERE.

The Kosciuszko Foundation's Chopin Piano Competition was established in 1949, in honor of the hundredth anniversary of the death of Frédéric Chopin. The inauguration took place at the Kosciuszko Foundation House in New York City, with Witold Malcuzynski as a guest artist, and Abram Chasins, composer and music director of the New York Times Radio Station, presiding. Over the years, many outstanding musicians have been associated with the competition including Van Cliburn, Ian Hobson, and Murray Perahia. Today, the Kosciuszko Foundation's Chopin Competition continues to encourage gifted young pianists to further their studies and to perform the works of Polish composers. 

Competition website

<< Return to Past events